Sign In

Remember Me

Or Login Using

Grooming Your Dog

Home Forums Dog Lovers Forum Dog Grooming Grooming Your Dog

Tagged: 

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Anna Rogers 1 year, 2 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Off The Leash
    Keymaster

Why is it so important to groom your dog?

Becky Smith
    Participant

I’m a former dog groomer, have 20 years experience. I no longer groom for a living but I own miniature poodles so groom regularly. Happy to help with grooming queries wherever I can.

Anonymous

Keeps her coat clean and skin healthy.
    Makes her look MUCH prettier, and smell MUCH better!!
    Gives me a chance to examine her skin and body generally for anything that shouldn’t be there.
    Bonding experience between human and dog.

But the sbove refers to brushing and clipping etc. I don’t normally bath her as she swims in either the river or the sea most days and that keeps her coat clean. If she needs a clean-up, I put her under a warm shower and just use the water. A real bath, with shampoo, is a rare event – usually only if she has rolled in something awful!

Diane Geggis
    Participant

I have a labradoodle, which has a hair coat, and he needs regular grooming. Generally, I provide regular brushing and take him for bathing and clipping about every three months. I used to bath him myself until I hurt my back.

Regularly checking him over allows me to “discover” things I wouldn’t normally catch.
    When he was just a puppy, I would take him to the groomers just to play. I wanted him to have a fun experience so that he wouldn’t dislike the process. I also made his brushing sessions fun with treats and toys and kept the sessions short.
    I think it made a difference.

Mary Bull
    Participant