Sign In

Remember Me

Or Login Using

Which Dog Breeds Are Good For Children?

Home Forums Dog Lovers Forum Dog Breeds Which Dog Breeds Are Good For Children?

This topic contains 10 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Mary Bull 1 year, 2 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

Off The Leash
    Keymaster

Steve Connelly
    Participant

Staffordshire Bull Terriers. My two are amazingly gentle and tolerant of children. Even the Kennel Club recommends them. Wonderful dogs.

Lynsey Hughes
    Participant

I’m biased but I’d definitely go with a staffie. I’m studying at the moment and staffies rate the highest as family pets. As with all dogs, they’ll need clear boundaries and appropriate training. Which ever you choose always try to encourage the children to train the dog too as this teaches the dog and the child about mutual respect and leads to happy and well adjusted pooch :-)

Off The Leash
    Keymaster

Sounds like a great Staffie you’ve got. I too have heard they are great with children,

Becky Smith
    Participant

I would suggest that maybe the question is what children are good for dogs! No one breed can be classed as ‘good for children’ as there will always be some individuals within any breed that may not appreciate a child. Children should be taught how to behave around dogs and dogs should not be expected to put up with any behaviour which may be intolerable for the dog such as pulling ears, poking, grabbing tails etc etc.

Julie
    Participant

Yes my last 2 rescues have had the Staffie gene in them and their love of all the children we meet is apparent, however I would never be so confident as to drop my guard as you never know what a child might do, but this applies to all breeds not just the staffie/staffie crosses.

Diane Geggis
    Participant

I agree with Becky. Each dog as an individual can like or dislike children.